East Gippsland Shire Council has announced the winners of its shire-wide Australia Day awards at a civic ceremony held in Lakes Entrance yesterday.

The 2018 Citizen of the Year is Gerry Ciavarella of Eagle Point.

Joint Young Citizen of the Year is Aislin Jones of Lakes Entrance and Jack Peterson of Bairnsdale.

The Mallacoota Winter ‘Saltstice’ was named Community Event of the Year.

A huge congratulations from all of us here at the Gippsland East LLEN!

To view winners profiles click here.

We also wish to extend our congratulations to Thomas Crosby, who was awarded the Young Citizen of the Year Award in Wellington Shire.
[you might recognise Thomas’ name from the GELLEN archives – click here for details of the Inspiring Young Men event we held in 2016]